The RingCentral HIPAA Setting (“HS”) is a functionality designed to delete information, in support of your HIPAA compliance efforts. Activation of the setting does not guarantee you will be compliant with HIPAA or any other privacy law, including European data privacy regulations. It is your responsibility to determine whether your data privacy and security measures comply with applicable law. If you have more than one account with RingCentral, you must activate the setting for each account. Please review the following information before activating this feature, as it may affect the functionality of your system and the retention of your data by RingCentral.
Carefully review data stored in your RingCentral account. Once activated, the following types of data WILL be permanently deleted after 30 days:
- RingCentral MVP data
- RingCentral Fax data
- RingCentral Professional account data
- Voice recordings
- Short Message Service (SMS)
- Multimedia Message Service (MMS)
- Glip data, including content, time and date of messages, text messages, tasks, notes, files, images, links, events, call activities, and/or posts from third party integrated applications.
RingCentral Contact Center data WILL NOT be automatically deleted.
Once the HS is activated, data is not saved in RingCentral’s back-ups and cannot be retrieved.
The RingCentral HS also affects certain functionality within RingCentral MVP and RingCentral Contact Center. The following features will be disabled once the HS has been activated:
- Message notification emails from Glip
- Attachment of voicemail, facsimile, SMS and MMS content to message notification emails sent to you by RingCentral.
Your account will be upgraded to leverage the Secure Voice feature. This feature uses certain encryption techniques to safeguard voice communications. You may need to adjust your firewall settings to avoid disruption. Please review the Preparing your Network for Secure Voice white paper for details.